Conference on the 100th Anniversary of the 1909 Copyright Act, April 30, SCU

By Eric Goldman

Please come to a Conference on the 100th Anniversary of the 1909 Copyright Act, April 30, at Santa Clara University. The event is co-sponsored by the High Tech Law Institute, Santa Clara University School of Law and Berkeley Center for Law & Technology, University of California Berkeley School of Law.

My hope is that the speakers will look back at the last 100 years of the 1909 Copyright Act to see what worked and what didn’t. Ideally, this might help us think more intelligently about developing copyright policy and drafting copyright provisions in the future.

I’m especially excited about this event because we are bringing together 2 dozen top copyright experts to spend a day geeking out on copyright law. If you’re not a diehard copyright enthusiast, this may not be the event for you. But if discussing copyright policy and doctrine with other smart copyright experts sounds like your idea of a good time, we think we’ve scheduled a day of pure bliss.

The event is free to attend but registration is required. There is a small fee if you want 7 hours of CLE credit. You can register for the event here. Hope you can join us.

The scheduled list of speakers:

Keynote speakers:

David Nimmer, Of Counsel, Irell & Manella

William Patry, Senior Counsel, Google

Marybeth Peters, Register of Copyrights, U.S. Copyright Office


Howard Abrams, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law

Jon A. Baumgarten, Proskauer Rose LLP

Oren Bracha, University of Texas School of Law

Michael Carroll, Villanova University School of Law

Julie Cohen, Georgetown University Law Center

Laura Gasaway, University of North Carolina School of Law

Daniel Gervais, Vanderbilt University Law School

Justin Hughes, Yeshiva University Cardozo School of Law

Peter Jaszi, American University Washington College of Law

Roberta Rosenthal Kwall, DePaul University College of Law

Marshall Leaffer, Indiana University School of Law

Jessica Litman, University of Michigan Law School

Joseph Liu, Boston College Law School

Lydia Pallas Loren, Lewis & Clark Law School

Tyler Ochoa, Santa Clara University School of Law

Ruth Okediji, University of Minnesota Law School

Tony Reese, University of Texas School of Law

Pamela Samuelson, Univ. of California at Berkeley School of Law

Christopher Sprigman, University of Virginia School of Law

John Tehranian, Chapman University School of Law

Elizabeth Townsend Gard, Tulane University School of Law

Alfred Yen, Boston College Law School